We Are Never Ever Ever Getting Back Together (Just Kidding)

I have an obsessive personality. I will literally consume myself with a television show as soon as I fall in love with it. And while most shows keep this kind of attention from me for a while, there are other’s that I seem to have an on and off again relationship with. One of these shows is Grey’s Anatomy. It’s currently in its eleventh season so it’s easy to see how I have gone from watching it every week as it airs, to not watching at all and back again. I have seen all the episodes I missed in between, but it’s a fact that long-running shows hit a period (sometimes a long period) of time where they might completely lose your interest. Does this mean you don’t like the show anymore? No. Shows like The Vampire Diaries amaze me because they will have my full attention and enthusiasm for the most part, but there will be a six or seven episode stretch where I purposely avoid watching. I’ve had this problem with One Tree Hill (nine season run) and Supernatural (ten season run and counting). Can you name any long-running shows, I’m talking eight seasons or more, that kept your complete attention and enthusiasm throughout their run? I can’t.

Leave a comment