My Favorite Films of 2014

It’s the end of another year which means plenty of “best of” lists. I like to think mine’s a little different, mainly because I didn’t judge these films just on their quality, but purely by my own personal opinion. That’s right, my blog, my rules. So basically if I liked a film so much I wanted to run out and watch it again, or can’t wait to buy the DVD, it’s here. There’s still a handful of films I need to see from this year’s crop (Top Five, Unbroken, Foxcatcher), but I’d like to think this is a pretty great list (it’s purely my opinion remember?)

It was certainly a year for Keira Knightley (at least according to me) where she broke out from her usual period piece to play three strong women in a modern setting. Another fish out of water scenario came from Daniel Radcliffe, who successfully made me forget he once played Harry Potter in eight films in What If, the indie romance that grossed far too little at the box office. Superheros stayed on top, history took a front seat, and love was everywhere. Here’s my favorites from 2014.

  1. Begin Again
  2. The Hundred Foot Journey
  3. Captain America: Winter Soldier
  4. The Imitation Game
  5. Dear White People
  6. Fury
  7. The Grand Budapest Hotel
  8. Guardians of the Galaxy
  9. Laggies
  10. What If

What were your favorite films this year? Are any on this list?

Leave a comment