The Flash Season Two (Part One)

The Flash is one of my favorite shows. Last season it WAS my favorite show. And while it continues to entertain, it seems to have lost the magic that made season one so exciting to watch. Let me start out by saying I’m a huge Flash fan, but this season has been missing the magic that made Season One so great. Hopefully when the show returns from it’s winter hiatus it will return with the spark that’s been missing. Let’s start with the not so good parts of the first half of Season One:

The Bad:

What’s Up With Barry?:

barry

The first season was incredibly fun television that I really felt had been missing from shows for a long time. The writers balanced the drama with comedy and developed the characters so the audience cared about each and every one of them. Now while this season is entertaining (at times), it’s missing the spark it used to have. Barry is no longer the fun loving superhero. Instead he’s crabby. All the time. Yes he’s been through a lot, but they need to bring back a little fun considering it’s what made him so endearing in the first place. A little comedy now and then won’t hurt.

BFF’s:

iris barry

One of my favorite parts of season one was Barry and Iris’s relationship. And I don’t mean Barry’s pining for Iris. I’m talking about their friendship. I understand they want the audience to buy the Barry/Patty relationship for a while, but it feels like they’re sacrificing the WestAllen (Barry & Iris) friendship in return. The lack of scenes between the two is glaringly obvious and leaves a hole in almost every episode.

Patty: 

patty

Where do I start? She’s so obviously a filler it hurts. She’s a carbon copy of Barry, but not in a good way. I really tried to like her, but there is nothing I find endearing about her character. Once she shot Harry (Wells from Earth 2) I was out completely. To be honest I’m just counting down the episodes until she’s gone. I’m hoping that her lack of character development is a sign that she won’t be around too much longer.

The Good:

the-flash-villain-1446587828

Zoom:

Zoom was only the main focus of one episode, and appeared briefly in the winter finale, yet he’s managed to leave his mark. He is the most ruthless villain the Flash has ever had, and might possibly be the greatest villain they ever will have. As soon as he drug Barry around Central City, showing off his conquest, I was sold.

Wally:

wally

Yes he was only in the very end of the winter finale, but my excitement for Wally is already here. There are so many places they can go from here with his character and it appears they will finally explore the West family like they promised before the season started. Here’s hoping Wally’s the jolt of electricity that this show needs.

ParkWest (WestPark?):

flash-iris-linda-drinking-buddies-1447204360

Linda and Iris’s friendship was only showcased in two episodes (heavily in one), but it’s been one of the best highlights this season. Since Iris seems to be a prop in Star Labs, it was nice to see her bond with someone other than Barry. This show could use more female friendships, something that is glaringly lacking. Since Wally is now in the picture, maybe Linda could stick around for a while?

Cisco:

cisco

I mean. What do I really need to say? Cisco is the only humor in the show right now and has saved even the blandest of episodes in my eyes. His sass towards Harry (Harrison 2.0) is so well done I hope Harry sticks around for good. He’s also slowly becoming a superhero with hopefully more to come. More Cisco is always a good decision.

 

 

Leave a comment